Editorial analysis

Start with what the buyer accepts

A generated clip is inventory until it survives continuity, sound, editing, rights review and client approval. Track cost per accepted deliverable: total relevant operating cost divided by finished outputs. Count rejected generations and revisions in the numerator. Keep a separate cash view if the founder's time is unpaid; an unpaid hour still matters when deciding whether the business could hire a replacement.

The scenarios below are planning examples, not industry averages, quotes or forecasts. Outputs are not comparable in complexity: a studio campaign film and a solo social clip may both count as one item while demanding very different effort. Use the arithmetic to inspect your own assumptions, not to rank these business models.

Source record

The verified fee facts are narrower

Patreon's current help page describes a 10% platform fee for its standard plan, with additional payment-processing and other charges that depend on the transaction. The subscription sticker price is therefore not the amount available for production. Separately, Epic's MetaHuman licensing summary has revenue-dependent terms; an accessible software entry point does not specify a project's labor or operating costs.

Evidence: Patreon Help Center [s1] · Epic Games / MetaHuman [s2]

Practical application

Use an explicit labor assumption

Our solo example assigns 40 hours at $25 per hour to the founder, plus $120 for software, $100 for compute and $20 for hosting. That is $1,240 of modeled monthly economic cost, even though only $240 may leave the bank if labor is unpaid. At 12 accepted outputs, the economic cost is about $103 each. Delivering six instead doubles that figure without any subscription-price change.

For the other scenarios, labor is a total planning allowance that must include the relevant mix of production, review, community and operations. Replace it with local employment or contractor costs. Paid acquisition is shown explicitly because growth spending can consume an apparently healthy production margin.

Editorial analysis

A break-even thought experiment

For illustration only, assume an $8 monthly membership and a combined 15% deduction for platform and transaction costs. That leaves $6.80 before production costs and tax. The solo scenario needs 183 paying member-months to cover $1,240. The 15% is our assumption, not a Patreon quotation, and may be inadequate for some payment paths.

This calculation is not an audience forecast. It omits churn, refunds, tax, equipment purchases and working-capital timing. Add those before making a commitment. If sponsorship is the main offer, replace member contribution with the contribution from an actually contracted campaign after delivery costs. Do not turn followers into revenue with an unexplained conversion rate.

Modeled scenarios / not observed results

Four operating assumptions.

USD per month. Labor includes the solo founder's imputed time. Accepted outputs differ in scope and are not interchangeable production units.

ModelSoftwareComputeHostingLaborAcquisitionTotalOutputsPer accepted output
Solo creator$120.00$100.00$20.00$1,000.00$0.00$1,240.0012$103.33
Small studio$450.00$500.00$50.00$4,000.00$1,000.00$6,000.0040$150.00
Agency / IP team$900.00$1,200.00$150.00$12,000.00$2,000.00$16,250.0060$270.83
Scalable startup$1,800.00$4,000.00$1,000.00$35,000.00$8,000.00$49,800.00180$276.67

Total = software + compute + hosting + labor + acquisition. Unit cost = total ÷ accepted outputs. These assumptions exclude tax, capital equipment and other costs described in the guide.

Source ledger

What this rests on.

  1. Pricing FAQ ↗

    Patreon Help Center · Primary source

    Source publication: Not stated by source · Source updated: 5 August 2025 · Reviewed: 16 September 2026

    Standard plan platform fee is 10%; payment processing and other fees depend on transaction circumstances. This source does not establish this article's assumed 15% blended deduction.

  2. MetaHuman licensing ↗

    Epic Games / MetaHuman · Primary source

    Source publication: Not stated by source · Reviewed: 16 September 2026

    Licensing summary illustrates that software eligibility and price conditions differ from total production costs. It supplies none of the modeled staffing or output estimates.